View Full Version : Dark Depths vs Wasteland
Bobmans
03-23-2015, 03:41 PM
Dark Depths and Wasteland are both in play. For whatever reason Depths gets to the point it has 0 counters and triggers. In respons to this trigger Wasteland is activated targeting the Depths. What happens?
theBloody
03-23-2015, 05:28 PM
Depths are written similar to Standstill. He can't sacrifice it anymore, so he won't get Marit Lage.
117.12. (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R11712) Some spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities read, "[Do something]. If [a player] [does or doesn't], [effect]." or "[A player] may [do something]. If [that player] [does or doesn't], [effect]." The action [do something] is a cost, paid when the spell or ability resolves. The "If [a player] [does or doesn't]" clause checks whether the player chose to pay an optional cost or started to pay a mandatory cost, regardless of what events actually occurred.
Example: You control Standstill, an enchantment that says "When a player casts a spell, sacrifice Standstill. If you do, each of that player's opponents draws three cards." A spell is cast, causing Standstill's ability to trigger. Then an ability is activated that exiles Standstill. When Standstill's ability resolves, you're unable to pay the "sacrifice Standstill" cost. No player will draw cards.
Dark Depths's trigger tells you to sacrifice Dark Depths when it resolves, then it tells you to do something if you sacrificed Dark Depths. If you didn't sacrifice Dark Depths when instructed (because it left the battlefield before the trigger resolved, or whatever other reason), you don't do the thing.
PirateKing
03-24-2015, 08:59 AM
Wouldn't Dark Depths continue to trigger every time priority is passed though? Because it says "When Dark Depths has no ice counters on it, sacrifice it" and not "When the last counter is removed, sacrifice it", like suspend or vanishing. Every time sbe are checked, it will still have no Ice Counters, and trigger, correct?
Wouldn't Dark Depths continue to trigger every time priority is passed though? Because it says "When Dark Depths has no ice counters on it, sacrifice it" and not "When the last counter is removed, sacrifice it", like suspend or vanishing. Every time sbe are checked, it will still have no Ice Counters, and trigger, correct?
Only one instance of a state trigger can be on the stack at a time.
603.8. (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R6038) Some triggered abilities trigger when a game state (such as a player controlling no permanents of a particular card type) is true, rather than triggering when an event occurs. These abilities trigger as soon as the game state matches the condition. They'll go onto the stack at the next available opportunity. These are called state triggers. (Note that state triggers aren't the same as state-based actions.) A state-triggered ability doesn't trigger again until the ability has resolved, has been countered, or has otherwise left the stack. Then, if the object with the ability is still in the same zone and the game state still matches its trigger condition, the ability will trigger again.
Example: A permanent's ability reads, "Whenever you have no cards in hand, draw a card." If its controller plays the last card from his or her hand, the ability will trigger once and won't trigger again until it has resolved. If its controller casts a spell that reads "Discard your hand, then draw that many cards," the ability will trigger during the spell's resolution because the player's hand was momentarily empty.
PirateKing
03-24-2015, 01:13 PM
Okay so Dark Depths/Wasteland is different than classic Standstill/Stifle
Stifle the Standstill will trigger it again with a new trigger on top of the Stifle, Standstill's effect resolves.
Wasteland the Dark Depths, won't trigger again with original trigger on the stack, Dark Depths dies, ability can't resolve and no token.
That right?
Okay so Dark Depths/Wasteland is different than classic Standstill/Stifle
Stifle the Standstill will trigger it again with a new trigger on top of the Stifle, Standstill's effect resolves.
Wasteland the Dark Depths, won't trigger again with original trigger on the stack, Dark Depths dies, ability can't resolve and no token.
That right?
Yes. Dark Depths and Standstill are similar in that they both have "If you [do/don't]" checks, but different in how they trigger. Standstill triggers on an action rather than a game state, so it can keep triggering every time that action happens.
(Nitpick: Dark Depth's ability resolves, but the second part does nothing since the first part couldn't happen.)
Phelix
04-15-2015, 12:52 AM
Yes. Dark Depths and Standstill are similar in that they both have "If you [do/don't]" checks, but different in how they trigger. Standstill triggers on an action rather than a game state, so it can keep triggering every time that action happens.
Yes they are similar. Imagine you used stifle to trigger the "draw 3" on standstill.
If you stifle depths triggering, it just trigger again, since its still there, still has 0 counters on.
Since wasteland removes it. it cannot trigger again.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.