Octopusman
06-03-2016, 05:42 PM
I'm thinking of rule 717.1. Is this the right rule?
Let's say I have a City of Traitors, Mountain, and Trinisphere on the battlefield.
You have to pay for costs when casting a spell.
If I say "I'm casting Chrome Mox" without tapping anything and I place it on the battlefield because I forgot to pay 3, does the spell get reversed even though nothing was paid or do I HAVE to pay for the mox because I could? Can my opponent force me to pay for the mox because I can even though I tried to resolve the spell before paying for it?
[Edit: I think I found the answer. It would back up and I can choose not to play. I'd probably get a warning. Correct?]
Let's say I have a City of Traitors, Mountain, and Trinisphere on the battlefield.
You have to pay for costs when casting a spell.
If I say "I'm casting Chrome Mox" without tapping anything and I place it on the battlefield because I forgot to pay 3, does the spell get reversed even though nothing was paid or do I HAVE to pay for the mox because I could? Can my opponent force me to pay for the mox because I can even though I tried to resolve the spell before paying for it?
[Edit: I think I found the answer. It would back up and I can choose not to play. I'd probably get a warning. Correct?]