View Full Version : Spell casting and paying costs timing
Tylert
01-25-2021, 01:31 AM
Let's say I can pay for a card's cost by discarding a card as an alternate casting cost.
Does any "When you cast this spell" trigger see the card in the graveyard??
I'm just trying to figure the exact timing.
If discarding is part of the spell cost, this must be paid to cast a spell. If the spell creates a trigger [at/when/whenever], the discards are in yard already.
Tylert
01-25-2021, 09:05 AM
If discarding is part of the spell cost, this must be paid to cast a spell. If the spell creates a trigger [at/when/whenever], the discards are in yard already.
Many thks.
rufus
01-29-2021, 11:25 AM
If you want to see the order that stuff happens in while casting spells rule 601 goes over it in painstaking detail.
https://magic.wizards.com/en/game-info/gameplay/rules-and-formats/rules
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.