PDA

View Full Version : Nihilistic Glee and hellbent



RoddyVR
10-31-2007, 03:01 PM
this is not realy a card interaction, but more of a "how does this work?" question.

http://ww2.wizards.com/Gatherer/CardDetails.aspx?&id=107517

Nihilistic Glee
2BB
Enchantment
2B, Discard a card: Target opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

Hellbent - 1, Pay 2 life: Draw a card. Play this ability only if you have no cards in hand.


the first ability is simple, but the hellbent ability... how powerfull is it?
so lets say i have this thing in play, and am now hellbent (ie no cards in hand).

could i:
tap a land, pay two life to put "Draw a card. Play this ability only if you have no cards in hand. " on the stack
then respond by tapping another land and paying 2 more life to "Draw a card. Play this ability only if you have no cards in hand." since i still have no cards in hand as the first activation of this thing hasnt resolved yet....

am i reading this thing correctly? or am i missing something here?

EDIT: would the "first" (last to resolve activation) still resolve, or does the "play this ability only if..." clause interefere if i'm resolving the ability when its condition isnt met...

Nihil Credo
10-31-2007, 03:26 PM
Yes, that works. "Play this ability only if..." conditions only apply to playing the ability; once it's on the stack, it will resolve just fine regardless of whether the condition is met.

RoddyVR
10-31-2007, 03:33 PM
cool thanks... i was hoping that's how it worked, but wanted to make sure cause the hellbent ability seems prety powerfull the way it is.
nice.

also... just ran into another thing... and starting another thread seems a bit like spamming.


Death Wish
http://ww2.wizards.com/Gatherer/CardDetails.aspx?&id=34402

has this in the rullings on oracle... but the card doesnt say to reveal the card... did they just put the same ruling on all the wishes, and forgot that the black one is different then hte rest.

10/4/2004 Does not allow you to look at face-down cards which are in the removed from game zone. You get to see the chosen card at the same time your opponent does, when you reveal it. You do get to tell each set of face down cards from other sets based on which effect removed the cards from the game. If you want to pick from a face down set, you take a random card from it.

Zuriya
10-31-2007, 05:48 PM
If the card says so, you don't need to reveal the card. After all it can be of any type unlike the other wishes. (Compare Mystical Tutor <-> Vampiric Tutor)

cdr
10-31-2007, 06:32 PM
If I recall, that ruling is indeed incorrect. It's been around awhile as you can see. Outdated/incorrect rulings take an awfully long time to get purged from Gatherer, probably because they're low priority.

Please do start new threads for new questions. Spam away.