PDA

View Full Version : Uba Mask vs Words Enchantments



Atwa
11-14-2007, 11:48 AM
I was playing GreenOne at MWS, where I was playing Stax vs Enchantress. I wanted to cut of his drawing engine with Uba Mask, but he had a Words of War in play.

We ruled at that time he got to choose whether he wanted to remove his cards from the game, or deal damage with the Words of War.

Now I think this is correct, but I wonder if this is also how the official ruling is. Could someone confirm the rules work this way?

ClearSkies
11-14-2007, 01:34 PM
I just know that when two replacement effects replaces a draw/event, the player being affected get to choose which one to go first.

Does these rulings help?



419.6a A replacement effect doesn’t invoke itself repeatedly and gets only one opportunity for each event.
Example: A player controls two permanents, each with an ability that reads “If a creature you control would deal damage to a creature or player, it deals double that damage to that creature or player instead.” A creature that normally deals 2 damage will deal 8 damage—not just 4, and not an infinite amount.

419.6h Some effects replace card draws. These effects are applied even if no cards could be drawn because there are no cards in the affected player’s library. If an effect replaces a draw within a sequence of card draws, all actions required by the replacement are completed, if possible, before resuming the sequence. If an effect would have a player both draw a card and perform an additional action on that card, and the draw is replaced, the additional action is not performed on any cards that are drawn as a result of that replacement effect.

cdr
11-14-2007, 05:20 PM
ClearSkies got it. Here's the rule:


419.9a. If two or more replacement or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply. Then the other effect applies if it is still appropriate. If one or more of the applicable replacement effects is a self-replacement effect (see rule 419.6d), that effect is applied before any other replacement effects. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 103.4).

Example: Two permanents are in play. One is an enchantment that reads "If a card would be put into a graveyard, instead remove it from the game," and the other is a creature that reads "If [this creature] would be put into a graveyard from play, instead shuffle it into its owner's library." The controller of the creature that would be destroyed decides which replacement to apply first; the other does nothing.

Atwa
11-14-2007, 07:18 PM
Ok, thanks. That's what I was looking for.

I already thought it worked that way, but it's always nice to get conformation you're right :)