View Full Version : Sacrifice at end of turn and control magic
Maveric78f
01-26-2008, 09:19 AM
What happens if my opponent, for instance, puts into play a creature with sneak attack and then I take control of it before the sacrifice trigger?
And in resp to the sacrifice trigger? (vialing a gilded drake for instance)
I think that it should be sacrificed anyway, but it's more a common sense intuition than a ruling.
Nihil Credo
01-26-2008, 10:59 PM
You can't sacrifice something you don't control, so it will stick around.
Search the MTG.com archives for Mark Gottlieb's preview article on Measure of Wickedness if you want to read how that works.
Maveric78f
01-27-2008, 04:27 AM
At the end of your turn, sacrifice Measure of Wickedness and you lose 8 life.
Whenever another card is put into your graveyard from anywhere, target opponent gains control of Measure of Wickedness.
There is nothing to compare with this card. On MTGSalvation, I've been told that I had to sacrifice the creature because the triggered effect was not linked to the controller.
Nihil Credo
01-27-2008, 07:00 AM
On MTGSalvation, I've been told that I had to sacrifice the creature because the triggered effect was not linked to the controller.
Conneries. The "your" in "your turn" only changes the triggering condition, it has nothing to do with the effect.
To die regardless of who controls it, the card should say "its controller sacrifices it".
Maveric78f
01-28-2008, 05:05 AM
I just meant that the "your turn" condition was the reason why measure of wickedness could stay into play longer than a turn. It just has to be controlled by the nonactive player at each end of turn to live 1 turn more.
By the way, you're right. The person who answered me on MTGS did not know what he said. I quote the explicit ruling quoted from the comprehensive rules.
To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the in-play zone directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent he or she doesn’t control. If an effect instructs a player to sacrifice a permanent that he or she doesn’t control, nothing happens. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect it.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.