PDA

View Full Version : Crusher and DDreams.



Peter_Rotten
02-08-2008, 06:09 PM
Ok, here's the situation:

I have a 3/3 Countryside Crusher in play. I cast Devastating Dreams. (http://www.cardshark.com/magic/card_detail.asp?card_id=18363) I discard 3 NON-land spells for it. Does my Crusher live? I assume so.

DD text:

As an additional cost to play Devastating Dreams, discard X cards at random from your hand.

Each player sacrifices X lands. Devastating Dreams deals X damage to each creature.

technogeek5000
02-08-2008, 06:16 PM
Umm, the counters are a triggered ability i believe so im almost positive the crusher will die. It will have 3 damage on it while the counter trigger is on the stack so it will die. I could be wrong though.

mujadaddy
02-08-2008, 06:24 PM
Umm, the counters are a triggered ability i believe so im almost positive the crusher will die. It will have 3 damage on it while the counter trigger is on the stack so it will die. I could be wrong though.

But isn't it (functionally) the same as Giant Growthing the Crusher?

Nihil Credo
02-08-2008, 06:25 PM
Technogeek is correct. During resolution of Devastating Dreams, you will sacrifice three lands, which triggers Crusher three times. After the spell has done resolving, SBEs will be checked and a 3/3 Crusher with 3 damage on it will die; then the triggers will go on the stack, but they will do nothing upon resolution because the Crusher is no longer in play.

mujadaddy
02-08-2008, 06:28 PM
Ouch. /reaches for Advil... the triggers don't go on the stack above the spell?

Jaynel
02-08-2008, 06:31 PM
They do, but State Based Effects are checked after the spell resolves and Crusher is no longer around to get his +1/+1 counters.

mujadaddy
02-08-2008, 06:46 PM
They do, but State Based Effects are checked after the spell resolves and Crusher is no longer around to get his +1/+1 counters.

That's contradictory -- they either DO (and the crusher gets his counters -- the cost has been paid, the counters go 'above/before' the spell) or they DON'T (and the spell resolves before the counters are put on the stack).

iOWN
02-08-2008, 06:55 PM
That would be true if he discarded lands. (The counter-adding ability would trigger, and be put onto the stack on top of Dreams.) However, when he sacrifices the lands, Dreams is in the middle of resolving. NOTHING can be put on the stack as a spell is resolving.

You follow out the card text in order. You can make decisions, if part of the card's resolution, or play mana abilities when you pay for the cost. Otherwise, you cannot do anything during a card's or abilities' resolution.

Normally, if an ability triggers as something is resolving, it will be put on the stack after resolution is complete. In this case, Crusher is already dead.

mujadaddy
02-08-2008, 06:59 PM
Ok... I see now. The difference is that the land-sacrifice and the damage happen simultaneously (as the spell is resolving), got it. The situation with lands being discarded was much more clear.

Peter_Rotten
02-08-2008, 07:01 PM
Stupid rules.