PDA

View Full Version : Oh No... A Phasing Question.



gustoh
02-12-2008, 02:06 AM
Some one please refresh my memory.

If a creature gets Phased out... When it comes back into play does the creature have summoning sickness or not?

EX: Phyrexian Dreadnought comes into play. The ability goes on the stack then gets Phased out with Vision Charm. Next turn the Dreadnought comes back into play.

So does the creature have summoning sickness or not?

LT...

Meekrab
02-12-2008, 02:19 AM
Creatures with intrinsic Phasing would be really useless if they came back with summoning sickness.

gustoh
02-12-2008, 02:32 AM
Creatures with intrinsic Phasing would be really useless if they came back with summoning sickness.

So...

Like...

They don't have summoning sickness then right...?

LT...

Maveric78f
02-12-2008, 02:59 AM
The ruling is a bit strange

502.15m. A permanent that phases in can attack and tap to play abilities as though it had haste. (This applies even if that permanent phased out and phased back in the turn it came into play.) The permanent remains able to attack and tap to play abilities until it changes controllers or leaves play.
It means that it behaves as if it had haste but it does not have since, if you lose control of it, it will not have haste anymore. In general, with the phasing zone, you have to understand that everything behaves as if it was still into play except that it's not. The permanent will remember everything.

The only thing I'm not sure about is:
if I play a permanent then I phase it out and I phase it in all three in the same turn does it behave as if it had haste? It looks like yes. But it's very counterintuitive.

Anusien
02-12-2008, 03:11 AM
Yes. You can tell because it says so right there in the rules excerpt you posted:


502.15m. A permanent that phases in can attack and tap to play abilities as though it had haste. (This applies even if that permanent phased out and phased back in the turn it came into play.) The permanent remains able to attack and tap to play abilities until it changes controllers or leaves play.

Zach Tartell
02-12-2008, 12:42 PM
I've always been kind of unsure about phasing, but I guess that the Vision Charm/Dreadnought thing works.

Does that mean that if I phase out my Loxodon Heiararch it's CIP +4 LIfe thing won't work? How does that work with the Ghost Council, then?

Edit: Ghost Council Doesn't phase, Zach.

Silvoz
02-12-2008, 12:56 PM
I've always been kind of unsure about phasing, but I guess that the Vision Charm/Dreadnought thing works.

Does that mean that if I phase out my Loxodon Heiararch it's CIP +4 LIfe thing won't work? How does that work with the Ghost Council, then?

Edit: Ghost Council Doesn't phase, Zach.

That's exactly what it means, Phasing is not considered as leaving play or coming into play!

Anusien
02-12-2008, 12:56 PM
502.15d. Permanents phasing in or out don't trigger any comes-into-play or leaves-play abilities, and effects that modify how a permanent comes into play are ignored. Abilities and effects that specifically mention phasing can modify or trigger on these events, however. (Because no player receives priority during the untap step, any abilities triggering off of the phasing event won't go onto the stack until the upkeep step begins.)

Damoxx
02-12-2008, 10:47 PM
It makes me feel kinda old when I have to explain how phasing works to people when my dreadnought phases in with out the sac effect.

Anusien
02-13-2008, 03:14 AM
It makes me feel kinda old when I have to explain how phasing works to people when my dreadnought phases in with out the sac effect.
To be fair, the Phasing rules changed somewhat recently. It used to be that they triggered Leaves Play abilities, but not Comes Into Play abilities. Now they trigger neither. So you shouldn't feel too geezerly.

Bovinious
02-13-2008, 11:27 AM
I dont even know the rules for Phasing or Banding because I figure if my opponent is using a card with either of those keywords, I'm definitely winning anyways.

Lego
02-13-2008, 11:56 AM
I dont even know the rules for Phasing or Banding because I figure if my opponent is using a card with either of those keywords, I'm definitely winning anyways.

Except when they're swinging for 24 on turn 2. Although at that point it's irrelevant if you understand the Phasing rules, because you're dead.

ninjabear
02-14-2008, 10:58 AM
During his time, the Rainbow Efreet (http://ww2.wizards.com/gatherer/CardDetails.aspx?&id=3648) was a b*tch! Kinda like a lesser morphling. But well, back then the creatures were all pretty dumb compared to nowadays creatures...

Arsenal
02-14-2008, 11:49 AM
Rainbow Efreet was THE kill card for Keeper decks back in the day. Rainbow Efreet was virtually unkillable.