PDA

View Full Version : Blood moon



Maagler
02-20-2008, 05:48 PM
I was playing somone on MWS and They played a blood moon. I played my treetop village untapped because it was now a mountain, but he insisted that it would come in tapped. I could not find a ruling and I left the land tapped and won anyways but I dont think that was the correct ruling.

Nihil Credo
02-20-2008, 06:10 PM
Your opponent was correct. (Emphasis mine in the quote)


419.6i. (http://www.mtgthesource.com/forums/) Some replacement effects (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#replacement_effect) modify how a permanent (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#permanent) comes into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#comes_into_play). (See rules 419.1b (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R419.1b.)-c.) Such effects (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#effect) may come from the permanent (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#permanent) itself if they affect only that permanent (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#permanent) (as opposed to a general (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#general) subset of permanents (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#permanent) that includes it). They may also come from other sources. To determine how and whether these replacement effects (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#replacement_effect) apply, check the characteristics (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#characteristics) of the permanent (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#permanent) as it would exist in play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#in_play), taking into account replacement effects (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#replacement_effect) that have already modified how it comes into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#comes_into_play), continuous effects (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#continuous_effect) generated by the resolution of spells (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#spell) or abilities (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#ability) that changed the permanent (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#permanent)'s characteristics (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#characteristics) on the stack (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#stack) (see rule 217.1c (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R217.1c.)), and continuous effects (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#continuous_effect) from the permanent (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#permanent)'s own static abilities (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#static_ability), but ignoring continuous effects (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#continuous_effect) from any other source that would affect it.
Example: Voice of All says "As Voice of All comes into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#comes_into_play), choose a color (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#color)" and "Voice of All has protection (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#protection) from the chosen color (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#color)." An effect (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#effect) creates a token (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#token) that's a copy (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#copy) of Voice of All. As that token (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#token) is put into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#put_into_play), its controller (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#control__controller) chooses a color (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#color) for it.
Example: Yixlid Jailer says "Cards (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#card) in graveyards (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#graveyard) have no abilities (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#ability)." Scarwood Treefolk says "Scarwood Treefolk is put into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#put_into_play) tapped (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#tapped)." A Scarwood Treefolk that's put into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#put_into_play) from a graveyard (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#graveyard) is put into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#put_into_play) tapped (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#tapped).
Example: Orb of Dreams is an artifact (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#artifact) that says "Permanents (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#permanent) come into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#play) tapped (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#tapped)." It will not affect itself, so Orb of Dreams is put into play (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#put_into_play) untapped (http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#untapped).

diffy
02-20-2008, 06:12 PM
Maybe a little more comprehensive than that raw rules extract:



Q: I have a Blood Moon in play and my opponent plays Dimir Aqueduct. I say the land comes into play tapped and he should return a land to his hand, however he says otherwise. Doesn't the land have a static ability that modifies the way the land comes into play, making it essentially a mountain that comes into play tapped and returns a land?

A: The land will come into play tapped, but he will not return a land to his hand. The ability that causes it to come into play tapped is a static ability and it is applied during the event that puts this land into play. Because Blood Moon does not affect this land until it come into play, this ability will not be affected. However, the ability that causes you to return a land to your hand is a triggered ability. Due to the Blood Moon, this land will come into play without this ability and it cannot trigger.

Maagler
02-20-2008, 10:00 PM
Ok thanks for clearing that up!!

Anusien
02-22-2008, 01:43 PM
This is similar to how if you play a Meddling Mage with Humility, you still name a card, but that card can be played.