PDA

View Full Version : Gilded Vedalken Drake Shackles



Pinder
02-22-2008, 03:26 AM
So, Maverick676 and I came up with a neato idea, but we want to make sure it works before we stick it in any decks. The idea is this:

You have Shackles and at least 3 Islands in play.
You play a Gilded Drake to steal an opponent's dude (lets say, Goyf or something).
You steal your own Drake back with Vedalken Shackles.
You let Shackles untap during your next turn.

The question here is, where does the Drake go? Does it go back to being controlled by the last person to control it (your opponent), or does it go back to being controlled by its owner (you), giving you your opponent's dude and a 3/3 flier with a Shackles primed and ready to steal another dude? I can't seem to find a ruling that quite covers it.

Thanks a ton in advance.

Nihil Credo
02-22-2008, 06:13 AM
It goes back to the last person to gain control of it. Since it never leaves play, the original control-changing effect (the one from Gilded Drake's ability) is still working there in layer 2, it just got superseded for a while.

Pinder
02-22-2008, 02:00 PM
Awww, man. I figured it worked that way, but I really hoped it didn't.

For all interested, the relevant rule:



418.5a The values of an object's characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object, then applying continuous effects in a series of layers in the following order: (1) copy effects (see rule 503, "Copying Objects"); (2) control-changing effects; (3) text-changing effects; (4) type-changing effects (which includes effects that change an object's card type, subtype, and/or supertype); (5) all other continuous effects, except those that change power and/or toughness; and (6) power- and/or toughness-changing effects.