Bane of the Living
03-14-2008, 10:55 PM
This doesnt actually involve Humility but its much more mindblowing than any silly Humility rulings Ive heard.
I just dont understand why Smokebraider can't pay the Reinforce ability on Brightheart Banneret. Reinforce is an activated ability but it the mana cant be used from Smokebraider becaues Banneret isnt an Elemental when your trying to use the Reinforce ability? Huh?
This is what wizards says:
On October 15 (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/askwizards/1007&date=10/15/2007), 2007, we explained the difference between "Elf," "Elf spell," "Elf card," etc. As a recap, "Elemental" refers to an Elemental permanent in play, "Elemental spell" refers to something on the stack with the Elemental subtype, and "Elemental card" refers to a card with the Elemental subtype that’s not in play or on the stack—in other words, in a library, hand, or graveyard, or the removed from the game zone. The mana Smokebraider provides can be used to pay for "Elemental spells"—which, as we just determined, playing a card’s reinforce ability isn’t—or "activated abilities of Elementals." However, a Brighthearth Banneret in your hand isn’t an "Elemental" due to rule 200.9 in the Comp. Rules—even though it does have the subtype Elemental, it would be referred to as an "Elemental card." Strange but true—Smokebraider can’t pay for reinforce costs."
Can anyone else just clear this up for me or something?
I just dont understand why Smokebraider can't pay the Reinforce ability on Brightheart Banneret. Reinforce is an activated ability but it the mana cant be used from Smokebraider becaues Banneret isnt an Elemental when your trying to use the Reinforce ability? Huh?
This is what wizards says:
On October 15 (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/askwizards/1007&date=10/15/2007), 2007, we explained the difference between "Elf," "Elf spell," "Elf card," etc. As a recap, "Elemental" refers to an Elemental permanent in play, "Elemental spell" refers to something on the stack with the Elemental subtype, and "Elemental card" refers to a card with the Elemental subtype that’s not in play or on the stack—in other words, in a library, hand, or graveyard, or the removed from the game zone. The mana Smokebraider provides can be used to pay for "Elemental spells"—which, as we just determined, playing a card’s reinforce ability isn’t—or "activated abilities of Elementals." However, a Brighthearth Banneret in your hand isn’t an "Elemental" due to rule 200.9 in the Comp. Rules—even though it does have the subtype Elemental, it would be referred to as an "Elemental card." Strange but true—Smokebraider can’t pay for reinforce costs."
Can anyone else just clear this up for me or something?