View Full Version : Soldevi Adnate
AceofAllan
03-15-2008, 11:18 AM
"[Tap], Sacrifice a black or artifact creature: Add an amount of black mana equal to the sacrificed creature's converted mana cost to your mana pool."
Is that technically a mana ability?
Specifically, can a pithing needle prevent me from using that ability to get mana?
Locutus
03-15-2008, 11:30 AM
It's an activated ability that doesn't target and adds mana to your mana pool when it resolves, so yes, it's a mana ability and Needle can't stop it.
AceofAllan
03-15-2008, 12:16 PM
Thank you very much. I'm still a bit fuzzy on all those technical definitions, so this was much appreciated.
Anusien
03-18-2008, 03:27 PM
Mana Ability: A mana ability is either activated or triggered. A mana ability doesn't go on the stack-it resolves immediately. See rule 411, "Playing Mana Abilities." A player may play an activated mana ability whenever he or she has priority and whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment. This is the only kind of ability that can be played in the middle of playing or resolving a spell or ability. See rule 406, "Mana Abilities."
406.1. A mana ability is either (a) an activated ability without a target that could put mana into a player's mana pool when it resolves or (b) a triggered ability without a target that triggers from a mana ability and could produce additional mana. A mana ability can generate other effects at the same time it produces mana.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.