PDA

View Full Version : Eye of the Storm



ssilver
03-28-2008, 04:39 PM
Rules question about eye of the storm. Do the copies from eye of the storm trigger storm count? My thought is that since they are "copies" of a spell, they don't, but I'm not certain.

Taurelin
03-28-2008, 04:56 PM
Rules question about eye of the storm. Do the copies from eye of the storm trigger storm count? My thought is that since they are "copies" of a spell, they don't, but I'm not certain.


Normally, you would be right.


503.10. To copy a spell or activated ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell or ability isn’t “played.”

The rules text of Eye of the storm, however, says in particular "For each copy, the player may play the copy without paying its mana cost." That means, it counts as a played spell for stormcount, similar to a spell that is "played" using Isochron Scepter.