View Full Version : Painter's Scarecrow/Glittering wish
Raider Bob
04-20-2008, 08:57 PM
If I name red can I wish for any non red card in my board, with the crow in play?
Pinder
04-20-2008, 09:39 PM
I don't think so:
Painter's Servant
Cost: 2 Mana
Card Type: Artifact Creature - Scarecrow
P/T: 1/3
Rules Text (Oracle): As Painter's Servant comes into play, choose a color.
All cards that aren't in play, spells, and permanents are the chosen color in addition to their other colors.
It doesn't specifically mention cards outside the game (like the wishes do), but then again, it should affect cards in the removed-from-game zone. I'm not sure if that's the same thing as cards in a sideboard, though.
Of course, if they Swords your dude, then you play Painter's Servant, you should be able to wish it out of the RFG zone.
In short, can we get a second opinion?
"Removed from game" is still part of the game, but sideboards are not. Painter will affect RFG cards, but not sideboard cards.
Bovinious
04-20-2008, 10:35 PM
"Removed from game" is still part of the game...
Nice, maybe WOTC will do an "RFG Zone Matters" theme eventually :wink:
Nihil Credo
04-21-2008, 05:22 AM
"Removed from the game" is one of the worst misnomers in Magic.
It's important to note, though, that it will only find cards that have another color. If you name Red, it won't find Artifacts in the RFG zone. Or Red cards.
Pinder
04-21-2008, 01:57 PM
"Removed from the game" is one of the worst misnomers in Magic.
It's true. They should probably have called it 'removed from play' or something, but it's not really a big issue if you know the rules.
revenge_inc
04-22-2008, 01:59 AM
Nope; Gaea's Blessing has a triggered ability. After Grindstone's ability has milled all your library (including Blessing) into the graveyard, and only then, will Blessing's ability go on the stack and resolve, shuffling your graveyard back in your library.
So Blessing disrupts this combo, but does not cause a draw.
Could you just activate a Tormod's Crypt while the trigger is on the stack to remove everything just milled (including the Blessings) from the game?
Anusien
04-22-2008, 03:24 AM
Could you just activate a Tormod's Crypt while the trigger is on the stack to remove everything just milled (including the Blessings) from the game?
I think you want a separate thread, but yes, that works as I understand the situation (context is king).
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.