PDA

View Full Version : Runed Halo and tokens



godryk
04-27-2008, 10:20 AM
Can the new Shadowmoor card Runed Halo name a token? Why?

I think it can't because rules say tokens are not cards, although they have names, but I'm not completely sure.

Thanks in advance.

technogeek5000
04-27-2008, 10:54 AM
It cant name tokens because tokens are not considered cards. It doesnt matter if they have a name or not.

Anusien
04-27-2008, 12:24 PM
You can only name a card found in Oracle (that isn't UN-). This means that if you name Goldmeadow Harrier, you are protected from Goldmeadow Lookout's tokens too.

Sanguine Voyeur
04-27-2008, 12:29 PM
You can only name a card found in Oracle (that isn't UN-).Why is that? Even though they aren't legal in the slightest, they are still cards with names.

Zach Tartell
04-27-2008, 12:32 PM
You can only name a card found in Oracle (that isn't UN-). This means that if you name Goldmeadow Harrier, you are protected from Goldmeadow Lookout's tokens too.

So if I name Dark Depths I'm safe from the Marit Laige token? I don't understand that one.

Sanguine Voyeur
04-27-2008, 12:34 PM
So if I name Dark Depths I'm safe from the Marit Laige token? I don't understand that one.
The tokens made by Goldmeadow Lookout have the same name as a card. Because Goldmeadow Harrier is a card, it can be named. Because the tokens are named "Goldmeadow Harrier," you can have protection form them by Runed Halo.

technogeek5000
04-27-2008, 12:57 PM
This is why it affects the future sight cycle that makes old creatures:

You have protection from the chosen name. (You can't be targeted by it, and all damage that would be dealt to you by it is prevented.)

This is why it doesnt affect normal tokens:

As Runed Halo comes into play, name a card.

godryk
04-27-2008, 02:35 PM
Thanks, that's what I thought.

PhanTom_lt
04-27-2008, 03:58 PM
It would be funny to play it against an opponent with a name of a magic card (Ramirez dePietro or other obscure legends).
"Sorry, you can't even touch me"

Anusien
04-27-2008, 07:29 PM
So if I name Dark Depths I'm safe from the Marit Laige token? I don't understand that one.
No. You can't name Marit Lage. You can name Goldmeadow Lookout. Any card that is in Oracle can be named, and you have protection from any objects with that name. Tokens with the name "Goldmeadow Harrier" produced by Goldmeadow Lookout still have the name "Goldmeadow Harrier". You can't be protected from Siege-Gang Commander's tokens because there is no "Goblin" card.


Why is that? Even though they aren't legal in the slightest, they are still cards with names.
Normal Magic world does not recognize Silver-bordered world and will not see them as real cards.

quicksilver
04-27-2008, 08:39 PM
I'm not sure but I seem to remeber that creature types from un-sets still count as legal creature types.

Lego
04-28-2008, 12:41 AM
You can only name a card found in Oracle (that isn't UN-).

This is actually untrue. You can feel free to name, "The Cheese Stands Alone."


Normal Magic world does not recognize Silver-bordered world and will not see them as real cards.

Not quite. While the cards aren't legal, Normal Magic still recognizes their existence. It's why you can name UN-exclusive creature types.

Tacosnape
04-28-2008, 01:22 AM
This is actually untrue. You can feel free to name, "The Cheese Stands Alone."

Which is doubly amusing, because not only would this never be played in a legal game, Runed Halo doesn't actually do anything to The Cheese Stands Alone.

Nihil Credo
04-28-2008, 10:32 AM
Another trivia: if no name is specified, tokens have the same name as their creature type. This means that if you use, say, Riptide Replicator to make an Atog or Juggernaut token, you can protect yourself from them by playing a Runed Halo naming the card Atog or Juggernaut.

(There may be other cards with the same name as a creature type, I just thought of these two.)

Anusien
04-28-2008, 01:14 PM
This is actually untrue. You can feel free to name, "The Cheese Stands Alone."



Not quite. While the cards aren't legal, Normal Magic still recognizes their existence. It's why you can name UN-exclusive creature types.

[13:12] <Anusien> Can Runed Halo name UN cards?
[13:13] <sdoherty> no
[13:14] <Lee|work> No. Uncards can't be chosen for "name a card", just like un-only-creature-types can't be chosen for "name a creature type".
LeeSharpe is an [O] source and NetRep for #mtgjudge.