PDA

View Full Version : Blood Moon and Forgotten Cave



Willoe
05-02-2008, 03:19 PM
With Moon in play, does Forgotten Cave still comes into play tapped? I'd say yes, but I have to have the answer confirmed.

Thanks :)

Jaiminho
05-02-2008, 03:42 PM
It does come into play tapped. It's a static ability that applies when it's put into play -- it's not into play yet, so it still has its abilities at that time.

Anusien
05-02-2008, 06:01 PM
Yes, but more precisely:
"This comes into play tapped" is a replacement effect that replaces how the card comes into play, so it applies before the card is actually in play and Blood Moon can affect it.


Rule 419.6i: Some replacement effects modify how a permanent comes into play. (See rules 419.1b-c.) Such effects may come from the permanent itself if they affect only that permanent (as opposed to a general subset of permanents that includes it). They may also come from other sources. To determine how and whether these replacement effects apply, check the characteristics of the permanent as it would exist in play, taking into account replacement effects that have already modified how it comes into play, continuous effects generated by the resolution of spells or abilities that changed the permanent's characteristics on the stack (see rule 217.1c), and continuous effects from the permanent's own static abilities, but ignoring continuous effects from any other source that would affect it. ["ex 419.6i." for examples]

Willoe
05-03-2008, 12:15 PM
Thanks!