PDA

View Full Version : jodah's avenger + deathmask duplicant



joshisme
05-08-2008, 02:14 PM
Jodah's avenger is a 4/4 creature with a mana activated ability. Tap 0 colorless mana: until end of turn, Jodah's avenger gets -1/-1 and gains your choice of double strike, protection from red, vigilance, or shadow. If i use this 4 times on the same turn, it dies as a state based effect.

I then used death-mask duplicant's ability on the same turn.
Imprint Tap 1 colorless mana: remove target creature card in you graveyard from the game. As long as an imprinted creature card has flying, death-mask dpulicant has flying. The same is true for fear, first strike, double strike haste, landwalk, protection, and trample.

would I be able to target jodah's avenger for double strike and protection from red?

Sanguine Voyeur
05-08-2008, 02:34 PM
would I be able to target jodah's avenger for double strike and protection from red?No, the Avenger in the graveyard would be a different Avenger as far as the game is concerned. It would lose all of the keywords granted by it's ability.

joshisme
05-08-2008, 03:25 PM
since it loses its abilities when it goes into the graveyard, since deathmask duplicant targets creatures in the graveyard, it can only imprint abilities written directly on the card?

Nihil Credo
05-08-2008, 04:06 PM
since it loses its abilities when it goes into the graveyard, since deathmask duplicant targets creatures in the graveyard, it can only imprint abilities written directly on the card?
Either that or abilities granted to the card while it's imprinted (i.e. removed from the game).

It doesn't matter yet, since there currently aren't any cards that grant to RFG cards the sort of stuff that D-M Duplicant copies. The closest that have been printed are Teferi (gives them flash), Celestial Dawn/Painter's Servant (changes their colour), Mycosynth Lattice (makes them colourless), and Conspiracy (changes their creature type).

joshisme
05-09-2008, 12:52 AM
ok this might be a stupid question...but i couldn't find the ruling or the exact wording to explain how imprint works. If i have a tribal golem in my graveyard and a shapeshifter in play, would i be able to imprint flying trample etc from the golem onto the duplicant? or are those abilities lost as well?

(tribal golem gets trample as long as you control a beast, haste as long as you control a goblin....you get the point)

Anusien
05-09-2008, 02:44 AM
Unless it is a characteristic-defining ability, CDA, abilities like that only function in play. You can tell this is not a CDA because it is conditional. Death-Mask Duplicant will only see a 4/4.