View Full Version : Dryad Arbor
Zach Tartell
05-11-2008, 09:57 PM
Ok, I'm rocking Quinn and my opponent plays a Dryad Arbor, then taps it for mana to Desert Twister my Humility. He quotes:
01-05-2007 If a Dryad Arbor gains flash, or you have the ability to play Dryad Arbor as though it had flash (due to Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir or Scout's Warning, for example), you can ignore the normal timing rules for playing a land, but not any other restrictions. You can't play Dryad Arbor during another player's turn, and you can't play Dryad Arbor if it's your turn and you've already played a land.
I did a search on SCG, since they're pretty good at rulings and the like, and I couldn't refute his ability to tap for mana the turn he comes into play.
But I'm not taking crazy pills or anything, right? He can't, right?
Pinder
05-11-2008, 10:04 PM
Flash =/= Haste.
He can't.
Cait_Sith
05-11-2008, 10:19 PM
Flash modifies when he can play it (any time during his turn, when he has priority, and he has not played a land). Nothing else.
Zach Tartell
05-11-2008, 10:34 PM
Oh, don't get confused folks. He didn't flash it into play. On turn 100 or so, after I've firmly established that his creatures don't mean anything, he played his sixth land and went for the Desert Twister. I then Abeyanced him twice, wing shards'd him twice, leaving him with a harbinger that didn't swing, and pounded in with 11 Soldiers and an Eternal Dragon FTW.
on1y0ne
05-11-2008, 10:36 PM
RTFC! It says right on the card, in the reminder text, that it is affected by summoning sickness, thus he cannot tap it for mana the turn he plays it.
Zach Tartell
05-11-2008, 10:40 PM
Yo, fuck mws for narc-ing reminder text.
Additionally, why is does Dryad Arbor lose "dryad arbor is green" if it is changed into a non-forest? That seems weird to me.
Cait_Sith
05-11-2008, 11:15 PM
It is probably some intrinsic ability related to the Creature Land thing. The fact is is that it is still a unique card (for the moment).
from Cairo
05-11-2008, 11:17 PM
Ok, I'm rocking Quinn and my opponent plays a Dryad Arbor, then taps it for mana to Desert Twister my Humility.
With Humility in play, isn't Dryad Arbor a 1/1 with no abilities... ie: cannot be tapped for mana? I know when Mishra's are turned into dudes under Humility they lose their ability to produce mana.
Does the fact that it's a Forest as well as a Creature, get around that aspect of Humility?
bigbear102
05-11-2008, 11:48 PM
I believe the fact that it is a Forest gives it the ability to tap for G.
Locutus
05-12-2008, 08:57 AM
While being a Forest gives Dryad Arbor the ability to tap gfor G, it's no an ability that can't be lost..it's still a creatue, so Humility changes it in a creature with no abilities, and you can't tap it for mana. "Dryad Arbor is green" is also an ability, and has to be in applied in layer 5, just like Humility, but since Humility makes Dryad Arbor lose that ability, Humility's ability has to be applied first, and then the other ability is gone, so it can't be applied.
Zach Tartell
05-12-2008, 09:21 AM
While being a Forest gives Dryad Arbor the ability to tap gfor G, it's no an ability that can't be lost..it's still a creatue, so Humility changes it in a creature with no abilities, and you can't tap it for mana. "Dryad Arbor is green" is also an ability, and has to be in applied in layer 5, just like Humility, but since Humility makes Dryad Arbor lose that ability, Humility's ability has to be applied first, and then the other ability is gone, so it can't be applied.
I'm pretty sure this is incorrect. Like, sure, it's not green any more (until I LIFELACE (http://magiccards.info/scans/en/al/116.jpg) that sucker), but I'm almost positive that because it has "forest" among the supertypes on his little bar that it can still tap for mana.
Like, Humility doesn't stop Gempalm Incinerator from counting the goblins in play, right? By that reasoning (that their sub-type or supertype isn't removed) Dryad Arbor can tap for mana even under Humility.
PhanTom_lt
05-12-2008, 10:12 AM
But mana abilities are still abilities, and can be shut down or removed by certain cards, like Humility here.
Humility doesn't stop Gemplam Incinerator, because it only humiliates goblins in play. Imagine what rules nightmares would the judges have if they would print a card with "Cards lose all abilities in all zones".
Cait_Sith
05-12-2008, 10:21 AM
MARo was would prison raped if that happened.
I doubled checked and yes, Arbor cannot tap for green under Humility.
Also, forest is a subtype, not a super.
The only 2 supertypes currently in use are snow and legendary.
bigbear102
05-12-2008, 08:33 PM
Congrats on double checking... wanna share?
Cait_Sith
05-13-2008, 11:50 AM
Congrats on double checking... wanna share?
Think of Dryad Arbor as a Llanowar Elves with "land" stuck onto it.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.