PDA

View Full Version : another volrath's shapeshifter q



Malchar
05-22-2008, 12:16 PM
What's the reasoning or implications behind changing Volrath's Shapeshifter's ability from a copy to "this has the full text of that card". Also, if I have a Reya Dawnbringer on top of my graveyard and a shapeshifter in play, can I bring the reya back without having anything die to the legend rule? I assume that I can, but I was a little confused because I know that something like Wheel of Sun and Moon "sees itself go to the graveyard" and applys the ability to itself.

Sanguine Voyeur
05-22-2008, 02:41 PM
Also, if I have a Reya Dawnbringer on top of my graveyard and a shapeshifter in play, can I bring the reya back without having anything die to the legend rule?You would not lose the shapeshifter. It would be something else before the ability finishes resolving.

Anusien
05-23-2008, 09:10 PM
Layers. Text-changing applies in Layer 3 and Copies apply in Layer 1.

Also, VSS keeps its name, type, cost, power, toughness, color and just has the text of the chosen card, as far as I can tell.

yggdrasil
05-24-2008, 02:51 AM
Also, VSS keeps its name, type, cost, power, toughness, color and just has the text of the chosen card, as far as I can tell.
(Volrath's Shapeshifter has that card's name, mana cost, color, types, abilities, power and toughness.)

Anusien
05-24-2008, 10:55 AM
(Volrath's Shapeshifter has that card's name, mana cost, color, types, abilities, power and toughness.)
Yep, that's listed on Oracle and not the search engine I use (Datatog). So just the other part.