Measure of Wickedness + Ghoulcaller's Bell
Measure of Wickedness + Ghoulcaller's Bell
End of Turn, my opponent controls Measure of Wickedness, MoW trigger goes on the stack to sacrifice and lose 8 life. In response to the trigger I activate Ghoulcaller's Bell, which causes another trigger for me to gain control of Measure of Wickedness. According to oracle text my opponent still loses 8 life and I gain control of MoW.
As far as I understand it, the Bell's effect happens simultaneously so I will gain control of Measure of Wickedness (because I milled a card at the same time as my opponent, so I didn't have control of Measure of Wickedness to trigger the second ability) and it will not immediately go back to my opponent's control.
Just making sure, this is a weird interaction, and I think I have it correct. However, if Ghoulcaller's Bell can be timed to gain control, give it back, and still have my opponent lose 8 life it would be a really fun combo.
Re: Measure of Wickedness + Ghoulcaller's Bell
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Mr. Safety
Measure of Wickedness +
Ghoulcaller's Bell
End of Turn, my opponent controls Measure of Wickedness, MoW trigger goes on the stack to sacrifice and lose 8 life. In response to the trigger I activate Ghoulcaller's Bell, which causes another trigger for me to gain control of Measure of Wickedness. According to oracle text my opponent still loses 8 life and I gain control of MoW.
As far as I understand it, the Bell's effect happens simultaneously so I will gain control of Measure of Wickedness (because I milled a card at the same time as my opponent, so I didn't have control of Measure of Wickedness to trigger the second ability) and it will not immediately go back to my opponent's control.
Just making sure, this is a weird interaction, and I think I have it correct. However, if Ghoulcaller's Bell can be timed to gain control, give it back, and still have my opponent lose 8 life it would be a really fun combo.
You have it correct.
But, Measure of wickedness did not leave the battlefield, it's not a new object. When the sacrifice trigger resolve, can't the opponent sacrifice it even if it is not under his control??
It's not written that he has to control measure of Wickedness.
Re: Measure of Wickedness + Ghoulcaller's Bell
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Tylert
You have it correct.
But, Measure of wickedness did not leave the battlefield, it's not a new object. When the sacrifice trigger resolve, can't the opponent sacrifice it even if it is not under his control??
It's not written that he has to control measure of Wickedness.
Rulings from the Gatherer says it stays
Once the at-end-of-turn ability triggers, it affects the player who controlled Measure of Wickedness at that time. If Measure of Wickedness is under a different player’s control as its at-end-of-turn ability resolves, however, Measure of Wickedness stays on the battlefield.
Re: Measure of Wickedness + Ghoulcaller's Bell
Yeah, I knew that the exchange trigger overrules the sacrifice trigger and the controlling player at the time of the trigger still loses 8 life. That part oracle covers neatly. The part I was slightly unsure about was how the triggers stack up given both players put a card into their graveyard with Ghoulcaller's Bell. In the minutiae of the rules I wasn't sure if the mill action was done exactly at the same time or if there was a window for Measure of Wickedness to retrigger.
Re: Measure of Wickedness + Ghoulcaller's Bell
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Mr. Safety
Yeah, I knew that the exchange trigger overrules the sacrifice trigger and the controlling player at the time of the trigger still loses 8 life. That part oracle covers neatly. The part I was slightly unsure about was how the triggers stack up given both players put a card into their graveyard with Ghoulcaller's Bell. In the minutiae of the rules I wasn't sure if the mill action was done exactly at the same time or if there was a window for Measure of Wickedness to retrigger.
You resolve completely ghoulcaller's bell before putting triggers on the stack. Your opponent is the only one to control MoW when the cards hit the graveyard, so only one trigger on the stack.
Re: Measure of Wickedness + Ghoulcaller's Bell