Originally Posted by
Asthereal
Rules for game state-based effects have changed several times since Urza's Saga. I don't think the combo works either, but we'll need to do a deep dive into the rules to be sure.
I actually thought the Curio was there to be able to make three lands per turn, which isn't needed under the 4CB rules for this round. I didn't see the combo attempt at all. :frown:
EDIT: How I think it works:
You have an Exploration in play and one in hand, and Curio in play.
You are alowed to play two lands now.
You play Exploration2, it resolves. Curio now triggers. With this trigger on the stack, before anyone is allowed to do anythig, the game checks how many lands may be played. That answer is now 3.
The trigger resolves, bouncing Exploration1. After this has resoled, and before anyone gains priority, the game again checks how many lands may be player. That answer is now 2.
Then you get priority and are allowed to drop a land.