For
Sirocco and
Tyrannize, should this instead be, they are affected by the special rule if and only if the player can't pay the life? (due to either not having enough or
Platinum Emperion)
Is the interaction of this rule with
Flay the same as the interaction of
Mindslaver effects with the Pact spells?
https://www.mtgsalvation.com/forums/...the-pact-cycle
That is: The target can decline to generate mana for the effect even if that player would've been able to generate such mana, in which case
Flay's second sentence normally would force the target to discard a card, and the rule applies. However, if the player already
has the mana as
Flay starts to resolve, then the discard is not forced, so the target must either do that or pay.
"a non-creature land" :
This still allows
Animate Land +
Strip Mine .
I imagine that combo would in fact get used, although it's
maybe ok since it's slightly worse than
Raze. (1 turn slower)