Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drafting tips

Elesh Norin Markov, Wary Vampiric Cenobite
    Feb 2007
    Hobart, New York

Drafting tips

I am participating in my first draft tomorrow. I have watched many, and read a lot about them, but I have no practical experience. We are drafting Time Spiral, Planar Chaos, Future Sight. Any tips? Help is greatly appreciated, Thanks!
    "Oho! I have deluded you! For I am a clever trickster, and this is not actually the truth!"
    -Doug Beyer
    Quote Originally Posted by raharu View Post
    You should probably work for Wizards. Making Chaos Orb and Falling Star into evergreen keywords, maing Hellbent. srsly.

Fat Kid
    Jun 2006
    Minnesota

Re: Drafting tips

I've always followed the pattern of BREAK.

B - Bombs
    R - Removal
    E - Evasion
    A - Abilities
    K - Krap
    Quote Originally Posted by Getsickanddie View Post
    Also, this thread needs more drunk Peter Rotten.
    Team ICBE - We're so good at playing Threshold, we don't even play it.

Team Keg Stand - If only the kegs weren't empty...

Sep 2005
    Buffalo

That's good advice, but there are some exceptions. The most important one that I can think of right now is that you really want to make sure you get at least 14 creatures by the end of the draft, and it's good to get a couple combat tricks too.

Other important things:
    1. Creature enchantments suck unless they make the creature completely nuts or give it shroud.
    2. Things with re-usable abilities are really nice. Examples are silk-bind faerie and power of fire (which also happen to go very well together).
    3. The average draft deck should have 17 lands. It's very rare that you would want to go below 16 or above 18.