Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: GP Columbus, worth a trip?

Site Contributor

Feb 2011

GP Columbus, worth a trip?

The week before the legacy GP in Columbus (10-12 June) I will be travelling to Canada for work (coming from Denmark). I'm considering booking a flight and joining the GP that weekend, but I have no experience with such trips whatsoever. I'm interested in hearing other peoples opinions and experiences about similar travels (e.g. overseas GPs). Is it considered worth the money? It will be a rather expensive trip for playing 'just' a weekend of magic. I have no illusions of really winning anything significant so it's not like I aim to come out with a net benefit on my bank account. Another thing is that I will be travelling alone. Having noone to relax with in-between rounds, having a chat etc. might be really boring over a full day. I always enjoy going to larger magic events like GPs with a couple of friends near Amsterdam but now that isn't really an option. Are there any other players here from the source planning on going? I'd like to do some playtesting etc. before the main event, so I'd be great to meet up with some people on the Friday. Have other members here just been going to an event by themselves? How was that experience? Any comments/suggestions/whatnot is welcome! It might be a bit in advance, but I need to book the tickets for work asap and I'd like to get the trip in Columbus included if I do :).
    Quote Originally Posted by Dice_Box View Post
    Non games are not only a common sight in Legacy, they are every decks plan. [...] Playing a deck like DnT and then complaining about "Non games" is hypocritical, because non games are your plan, you just disapprove of the way someone else is trying to achieve that same goal.

Re: GP Columbus, worth a trip?

I am sure that many players here will be attending GP Columbus.

It is also right when EMA is released so you can get in on a lot of drafts (which will be at MSRP still).