Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Modal Triggered Ability Timing

  1. #1

    Modal Triggered Ability Timing

    When a triggered ability without a target is placed on the stack, do you have to announce modes or only once it has resolved?

    Some examples:

    Felidar Retreat
    Black Market Connections


    I know modal spells you need to announce when you cast it, such as Gruul Charm

  2. #2
    Hymn-Slinging Mod
    H's Avatar
    Join Date

    Sep 2008
    Location

    The U-easy-anna
    Posts

    3,336

    Re: Modal Triggered Ability Timing

    Quote Originally Posted by reeplcheep View Post
    when a triggered ability without a target is placed on the stack, do you have to announce modes or only once it has resolved?
    603.3c if a triggered ability is modal, its controller announces the mode choice when putting the ability on the stack. If one of the modes would be illegal (due to an inability to choose legal targets, for example), that mode can't be chosen. If no mode is chosen, the ability is removed from the stack. (see rule 700.2.)
    "The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
    Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)