Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: EPlague question...

  1. #1
    The King of Lockjobs
    Peter_Rotten's Avatar
    Join Date

    Oct 2003
    Location

    Middle of Nowhere, NY
    Posts

    1,214

    EPlague question...

    Here's the situation that I hope to get some clearing up on:

    I have Putrid Imp (a Zombie Imp) in play. The opponent casts Engineered Plague and "let" it into play. He names Zombies and I think my Imp is safe because I'm a dumb-ass. However, realizing that Imp is a Zombie, I kick my self repeatedly and bury it. Another player said that I could have still used the Imp's discard ability in response to my opponent naming Zombie. I wasn't sure but didn't think so. Can anyone clear up the ruling?

    We were particulary confused since the opponent had the old Plagues with the older wording of "when it comes into play." The newer wording is "as it comes into play" if that makes any difference.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cavius The Great View Post
    Germany seems to find me influential. Have you ever Googled "Nourishing Lich"?
    Quote Originally Posted by Nihil Credo View Post
    No, Peter_Rotten, you are the problems.

  2. #2
    Team Lucksack - Founder
    Media314r8's Avatar
    Join Date

    Oct 2007
    Location

    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts

    522

    Re: EPlague question...

    You cannot, just as you cannot brainstorm after someone names the card they are cabal therapy-ing you for, or blow deed after needle comes down and they name deed. Naming is part of the resolution of the spell, and thus you do not receive priority until the permanent is in play, and in this case, your zombie imp in the bin. Any responses to such cards must be made with the spell still on the stack.

    You cannot have your cake and eat it to, no matter how delicious it may be.

    EDIT: the oracle text is what matters, not what is printed on the card. (unless you can cheaty-face R&D's Secret Lair into play) The oracle wording is 'AS,' which signifies a static ability, which, again, cannot be responded to.

    EDIT2: Ew, delicious zombie imp cake? Has anyone else been listening to the 'Nightmare (before christmas) Revisited' CD?
    Quote Originally Posted by cdr View Post
    Phasing is absurdly complicated. Did you know that if a token phases out with Equipment attached to it, the Equipment phases out, the token will cease to exist and the Equipment will never phase back in?

    Well, now you do.
    Quote Originally Posted by Media314r8 View Post
    "Build a man a fire and he'll be warm for a night. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."

  3. #3
    Banned
    darkalucard's Avatar
    Join Date

    Aug 2007
    Location

    I wish I didn't live in New Jersey.
    Posts

    80

    Re: EPlague question...

    Yeah I knew you couldn't respond but when I re-read it I was confused b/c it's was worded as a "come-into-play" ability. Obviously now that we all checked oracle text it's a "static" ability. And obviously static abilities do not use the stack so you don't receive priority.

  4. #4
    Loves the anus
    Jaiminho's Avatar
    Join Date

    Dec 2007
    Location

    Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brasil
    Posts

    544

    Re: EPlague question...

    Even if it was worded "when it comes into play", the naming would only happen when that trigger was resolving and, after the name was chosen, nothing could've been done. Since that's not how it is worded, nevermind.

    That "as it comes into play" ability is a static ability that defines a replacement effect for that permanent coming into play. It means that will happen as part of the effect that put it into play.


    Quote Originally Posted by darkalucard View Post
    Yeah I knew you couldn't respond but when I re-read it I was confused b/c it's was worded as a "come-into-play" ability. Obviously now that we all checked oracle text it's a "static" ability. And obviously static abilities do not use the stack so you don't receive priority.
    There's no such thing as "static abilities do not use the stack". It's more like replacement effects don't use the stack to replace events.
    Keep moon-walking.

  5. #5
    Banned
    darkalucard's Avatar
    Join Date

    Aug 2007
    Location

    I wish I didn't live in New Jersey.
    Posts

    80

    Re: EPlague question...

    Obviously but if it was a triggered ability since he never said "ok" to pass priority for it to resolve oh well that he named it b/c it would be his fault for moving ahead without making sure his opponent didn't have a response. (Just like people that play cabal therapy and name a card before it resolves. And I'm not saying that they couldn't take it back if he did respond.)

    But static abilities still don't use the stack and a replacement ability is still a static ability that doesn't use the stack...

  6. #6

    Re: EPlague question...

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaiminho View Post
    There's no such thing as "static abilities do not use the stack". It's more like replacement effects don't use the stack to replace events.
    Well static abilities don't use the stack, it's true. But they don't "resolve" in the same way activated or triggered abilities do. They're just characteristics of objects.

    Media314r8 and Jaiminho got it right; you can't respond by the time the thing is named, much in the same way you have to respond before your opponent names your fetchland with Pithing Needle.
    Magic Level 3 Judge
    Southern USA Regional Coordinator

    Quote Originally Posted by frogboy View Post
    Battle with a ragtag crew of adorable misfits. Narcomoeba and Golgari Thug hook up before the end of the movie.
    Quote Originally Posted by Nihil Credo View Post
    Please be less rambling in your next post. I only bothered with figuring out what the fuck you were trying to ask because I took it as a challenge.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)