Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Isochron Scepter and diverse permission

  1. #1
    Legacy Inept

    Join Date

    Oct 2005
    Location

    France
    Posts

    1,956

    Isochron Scepter and diverse permission

    How does it interact with chalice ?
    Counterbalance ?
    Meddling mage ?
    Trinisphere ?

  2. #2
    Captain fucking Magic
    KrzyMoose's Avatar
    Join Date

    Dec 2004
    Location

    San Diego, CA
    Posts

    248

    Re: Isochron Scepter and diverse permission

    Chalice? Counterbalance ?
    Chalice will counter the spell if the imprinted card's CMC is equal to the number of counters on Chalice.

    Counterbalance will still trigger, and counter the spell if the revealed card's CMC is equal to the imprinted card's CMC
    Last edited by cdr; 12-31-2008 at 09:37 AM. Reason: wrong answer removed, non-answer removed

  3. #3

    Re: Isochron Scepter and diverse permission

    Chalice definitely counters the copy if the imprinted spell has the cc of the number of counters on chalice.

    Same thing with counterbalance.

    Trinisphere makes spells that costed you less that 3 to play cost at least 3 to play. You have to play the spell without paying its mana cost, so Trinisphere makes you pay 3 colorless for it. So playing any spell off of an Isochron Scepter with a Trinisphere in play costs 5 colorless mana.
    Last edited by cdr; 12-31-2008 at 09:35 AM. Reason: wrong answer removed

  4. #4

    Re: Isochron Scepter and diverse permission

    I played scepter chant for portions of the last 2 extended seasons and the ruling was always that a meddling mage cannot stop the copy of the spell because it only stops the card from being played. Im unsure if the ruling was changed since last year, but I dont see why it would be so.

  5. #5
    Hold on! I have a 12/12
    Van Phanel's Avatar
    Join Date

    Mar 2007
    Location

    Germany
    Posts

    401

    Re: Isochron Scepter and diverse permission

    ChiiMagic has it right.

    Meddling Mage's text says:

    "The named card can't be played."


    Isochron Scepter doesn't try to play a card but a copy of the imprinted card which is why Meddling Mage doesn't effect it. Cards do exactly what their text says, nothing else.

  6. #6
    Captain fucking Magic
    KrzyMoose's Avatar
    Join Date

    Dec 2004
    Location

    San Diego, CA
    Posts

    248

    Re: Isochron Scepter and diverse permission

    Ah, that's very interesting. Sorry for the misinformation.

    Can someone explain why the rulings I quoted do not apply in this situation? I'm very curious.

    *edit* The rulings were:

    From the Gatherer: 12/1/2004 You can't play the copy if an effect prevents you from playing Instants or from playing that particular Instant.

    From the Mirrodin FAQ: You can't play the copy if an effect would prevent it from being played from your hand. [Mirrodin FAQ 2003/10/01]

  7. #7

    Re: Isochron Scepter and diverse permission

    It is exactly what ChiiMagic and Van Phanel said - Mage stops cards. Copies are not cards.

    "Rulings" on Gatherer are explanations/reminders of how the rules apply to particular cards - they are not rules.

    Mage does not say "The named instant can't be played", and it isn't an effect that prevents a copy from being played.
    “It's possible. But it involves... {checks archives} Nature's Revolt, Opalescence, two Unstable Shapeshifters (one of which started as a Doppelganger), a Tide, an animated land, a creature with Fading, a Silver Wyvern, some way to get a creature into play in response to stuff, some way to get a land into play in response to stuff (a different land from the animated land), and one heck of a Rube Goldberg timing diagram.
    -David DeLaney

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)