Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Delve

  1. #1
    Everybody's a jerk! You, me..........this jerk.
    Parcher's Avatar
    Join Date

    Jan 2006
    Location

    DuPont Circle
    Posts

    1,520

    Delve

    Is it true that you cannot "over-Delve" any longer? That is, removing more cards fron the 'yard than are required to cast the spell.
    Quote Originally Posted by MacGruber View Post
    Look, I will suck your dick. I will suck your fucking dick. I will do it, just join my team. I’ll suck your dick. You can fuck me or get fucked by me. You can watch me fuck something. Just point at something, I’ll fuck it for you. Just tell me what you want me to fuck!
    ~ Team Unicorn Motto

  2. #2
    get outta here, humanity.
    iamajellydonut's Avatar
    Join Date

    Jun 2009
    Location

    Butugychag
    Posts

    2,031

    Re: Delve

    Correct. A technical overhaul was applied to both Convoke and Delve as part of the M14 rules update.
    http://archive.wizards.com/Magic/mag...re/255c&page=3

    "702.50 Convoke
    I don't remember exactly how the conversation started, but one day a few months ago R&D ended up talking about how weird it was that you could "overtap" when casting a spell using convoke. That was weird, past-me thought, so I started thinking about ways to change that. As a cost-reduction ability, it couldn't really be contained. You can make a spell cost a billion mana less if you want to. I sought the advice of Rules Manager Emeritus Mark Gottlieb. Together, we came up with a new paradigm for convoke: what if instead of reducing the cost, tapping creatures was just another way of paying mana?

    So now it is! You don't declare which creatures you're tapping ahead of time, just like you don't declare what lands you'll be tapping ahead of time. When it comes time to pay the spell's costs (rule 601.2g), you can tap creatures rather than pay mana. Note that this is after you have a chance to activate mana abilities (rule 601.2f). This means that if you intend to sacrifice a creature to activate a mana ability, you can't also tap that creature for convoke."

    "702.65 Delve
    Once we worked out the details of convoke, changing delve in a similar manner was natural."
    Quote Originally Posted by sdematt View Post
    tits.

  3. #3

    Re: Delve

    Since this is another way of PAYING MANA, does this mean that Convoke and Delve spells can squeak through the Trinisphere?

    I know that nothing has ever tricked the Trinisphere before, but that new verbiage has me wondering. These are no longer cost reductions, or alternate costs... they are paying mana, just in a different way.

  4. #4
    Some dipshit of a Moderator.
    Dice_Box's Avatar
    Join Date

    Mar 2013
    Location

    A Tabernacle in some random Valley.
    Posts

    4,843

    Re: Delve

    Yes, you can exile more cards to pay for increases in mana costs.
    It is better to ask and look stupid then keep your mouth shut and remain so.
    Quote Originally Posted by Spam View Post
    Do not make fun of lands masters, they've spent many years mastering the punishing fire technique in the secret loam monastery. Do not mistake them with the miracles masters, eternal rivals, they won't like it.
    Quote Originally Posted by DarthVicious View Post
    I hope your afterlife is filled with eternal torment.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dice_Box View Post
    Fuck. Which one of my quotes do I drop for this?
    Quote Originally Posted by DarthVicious View Post
    Something about how fun it is pulling the wings off flies and microwaving the neighbors cat?

  5. #5

    Re: Delve

    Quote Originally Posted by T-101 View Post
    Since this is another way of PAYING MANA, does this mean that Convoke and Delve spells can squeak through the Trinisphere?

    I know that nothing has ever tricked the Trinisphere before, but that new verbiage has me wondering. These are no longer cost reductions, or alternate costs... they are paying mana, just in a different way.
    Basically yes, though since Delve and Convoke are paying mana, you're not technically tricking it. Trinisphere cares about the total cost, and the newer versions of Delve and Convoke do not affect the total cost and are not alternate or additional costs - they're the same as tapping a land. Feel free to Treasure Cruise for U + 7 exiled GY cards under Trinisphere.

    702.65. Delve
    702.65a. Delve is a static ability that functions while the spell with delve is on the stack. "Delve" means "For each generic mana in this spell's total cost, you may exile a card from your graveyard rather than pay that mana." The delve ability isn't an additional or alternative cost and applies only after the total cost of the spell with delve is determined.
    “It's possible. But it involves... {checks archives} Nature's Revolt, Opalescence, two Unstable Shapeshifters (one of which started as a Doppelganger), a Tide, an animated land, a creature with Fading, a Silver Wyvern, some way to get a creature into play in response to stuff, some way to get a land into play in response to stuff (a different land from the animated land), and one heck of a Rube Goldberg timing diagram.
    -David DeLaney

  6. #6
    itsJulian.com - Legacy Videos
    Julian23's Avatar
    Join Date

    Apr 2007
    Location

    Munich / Germany
    Posts

    3,141

    Re: Delve

    Am I correct to assume that Convoke is unaffected by Cursed Totem?
    The seven cardinal sins of Legacy:
    1. Discuss the unbanning of Land Tax Earthcraft.
    2. Argue that banning Force of Will would make the format healthier.
    3. Play Brainstorm without Fetchlands.
    4. Stifle Standstill.
    5. Think that Gaea's Blessing will make you Solidarity-proof.
    6. Pass priority after playing Infernal Tutor.
    7. Fail to playtest against Nourishing Lich (coZ iT wIlL gEt U!).

  7. #7

    Re: Delve

    I believe so. Convoke does not give the ability to the creature as far as I know.

  8. #8
    get outta here, humanity.
    iamajellydonut's Avatar
    Join Date

    Jun 2009
    Location

    Butugychag
    Posts

    2,031

    Re: Delve

    Quote Originally Posted by Julian23 View Post
    Am I correct to assume that Convoke is unaffected by Cursed Totem?
    Convoke is as closely related to activated abilities as Devout Invocation is. Which is to say that it's not in any way.
    Quote Originally Posted by sdematt View Post
    tits.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)