When does the crusher live and when does the crusher die. I understand it will work differently than it would with terravore but I can't find any concrete rulings on this interaction anywhere.
Any insight would be appreciated.
Countryside Crusher's ability is a triggered ability which means it uses the stack. As a result State Based Effects will be checked whenever one of those triggered +1/+1 counters attempts to resolve. So if the Crusher has received Lethal Damage from something it will die.
Some Examples.
3/3 Crusher, DD for 3 discarding 3 non lands = dead Crusher since State based Effects will be checked when the first of the Crushers 3 triggers attempts to resolve after DD resolves.
3/3 Crusher, DD for 3 discarding at least one land = alive Crusher since the Crusher's ability will trigger on the discarded land which is done as part of the cost of DD and will resolve before Devastating Dreams resolves.
Basically, lands discarded to the cost of DD will keep the Crusher alive because they will give +1/+1 counters before the damage is dealt (because the ability triggers as part of the cost), whereas lands sacced to DD won't save the Crusher because they will give +1/+1 counters after the damage is dealt (because the ability triggers during the effect, or resolution of the spell).
Team Info-Ninjas: Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.
My Videos: Chiron Beta Prime, Flickr, Re: Your Brains
Originally Posted by Slay
Thank you for the timely response.
Any personal feelings on this new toy? So far he has been decent, but i think i still like terravore better.
YOU'RE GIVING ME A TIME MACHINE IN ORDER TO TREAT MY SLEEP DISORDER.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)