sylvan is way better because you can double or even triple dredge or you can "draw" a useful card then dredge then put the draw back on top to hide it until it's time to recover it with tranquil or whatever else.
I personally think Mirri's Guile is a bad card in the deck, since it triggers during the upkeep. When a loam is running, the card is no longer useful, while the library can still be used to find the sb cards, to continue drawing, or to dredge multiple times in the draw step.
However, after playing a library for a time, I find it pretty slow on game one, and I'm thinking of moving it to the sb to help touching the cards I side in at games 2-3, and privilegiate explosivity for game 1.
Because it triggers before the draw step you know wether to dredge vs draw as opposed to library where you have to wait until every other draw step to use the previous turn's information to conclude a dredge vs a draw.
Saying Library is strictly better I disagree with.
Yes Library hits more "draw" steps to flip more of the deck with multiple loams in the yard but vs miracles you are just exposing more resources to RiP while upping your chances at binning a sb card. Paying life to draw cards may work in the early turns, but is a risk if they stick meddling mages or eot entreat.
Sure you can play it this way, but if you do it, you need to choose between scrying and dredging, whereas a Library allows you to do both.
For the miracles matchup, Sylvan can also be used just as Mirri's Guile if you're affraid of that kind of situations, just with one more mana (which might not be an incovenient in case of a countertop).
Another point I didn't mention is that Library can be used to "clean" the top of your library by paying 8 life points when no fetch is available. This allows you to see 3 fresh cards on the next turn. Although being dangerous in some situations, it can help finding the Punishing Fire that will save your life against a flipped Delver for instance, or accelerate assembling a fast combo. With a Mirri's Guile, you only see one more card per turn in this situation. I agree this situation is not the most frequent, but it is another reason why I prefer Sylvan over Mirri.
One benefit Library has over Mirri's Guile is the carddraw it offers at the cost of life, in conjunction with Marit Lage getting plowed. Carddrawing into combopieces until they run out of swords, and pay for it all with the 20 life you just gained. There's some sweet irony in this :)
Pure speculation incoming:
I can imagine Library being better all around vs guile simply because options are a good thing to have in a deck. You can either draw or put the top two back, or top one even. I feel like vs miracles you may end up with a Chalice on 1 anyway, so a library will almost always be successful, in the event you get an early Chalice then drawing into Guile vs Libary. But this is What If: the Gathering :)
Dredge is a replacement effect and since you didn't actually draw any cards you can't put any back. It's also important to know that if you dredge once and then take two draws you still have to put back or pay for both of the normally drawn cards in order to satisfy the "put two of the cards drawn this turn back on your library... (original text, not oracle, I'm sure it's slightly different)" text.
This is one of those interactions that is helpful to play with on MTGO since it works correctly there and it lets you see exactly how the different scenarios happen.
Remember: if you dredge, you replace the draw (you never draw a card).
So if you have a Sylvan Library in play and 3 Loams in the graveyard you can replace the first draw (the turn-based action draw) dredging one Loam, then on Sylvan Library's triggered ability resolution you can replace the other two draws dredging the other two Loams (if you have at least 6 cards in your library). Then you have to "[...] choose two cards in your hand drawn this turn. For each of those cards, pay 4 life or put the card on top of your library."
But you have drawn 0 cards this turn, so you don't have to pay life at all!
On Sylvan Library:
I've got two or three videos doing busted stuff with it, such as the aforementioned "draw a bunch of cards because Lage has been plowed twice" or "dredge Loam and see a bunch of extra cards anyway" scenarios. It's a pretty sweet card. Kinda want to put it back in my board.
In any case, a couple more videos, courtesy of my wife taking our daughter out to shop.
Building a Fortress #82
Building a Fortress #83
Just a warning: I make a significant (albeit MTGO-only style) blunder in game one of #83.
well while seeing the video i think i would have made the same mistake on mtgo xD
And about the tabernacle decision on #82, i would mox
gamble for tabernacle for sure, going to 6 its too dangerous, he spend a lot of resources and give him a clock and just a minimum 3 storm kill its too risky, not worth taking in my opinion.
That's a mistake then. It says so right in the rulings for Sylvan Library
From the Comprehensive Rules (Nov 13, 2015):9/16/2007: If you choose to draw two cards, then replace one or more of those draws with some other effect, the rest of Sylvan Library's ability still happens. If you've actually drawn only one card that turn, you must choose that card and either pay 4 life or put it on top of your library. If you haven't actually drawn any cards that turn, the rest of the ability has no effect.
Because it says "if you would draw a card" that's a special wording to indicate that the following text is going to replace the act of drawing [that] card. Simply put:702.51a. Dredge is a static ability that functions only while the card with dredge is in a player's graveyard. "Dredge N" means "As long as you have at least N cards in your library, if you would draw a card, you may instead put N cards from the top of your library into your graveyard and return this card from your graveyard to your hand."
At the start of your draw step you have an option to dredge or to not dredge Loam to replace the draw. If you choose to dredge you dredge 3 and the put the Loam into your hand. You never actually drew a card. Likewise with Sylvan Library's triggered ability you have the option to draw an extra two cards and for each of those cards you would draw you may dredge any available Loam; these Loams just "appear" in your hand because they were not drawn (drawn from where??). Because you haven't actually drawn any cards this turn Library's condition "if you do [draw extra cards]" never applies.
♀
As an added Sylvan Library note just to make it clear. If you announce a dredge for a Sylvan Library draw during your draw step - you can sequence it in any order. For example - you can:
- Look at the top 2 cards and dredge Loam - milling cards 3,4,5
- Look at the top 1 and 5 cards and dredge Loam milling cards 2,3,4
- Dredge Loam milling cards 1,2,3 and then looking at cards 4 and 5.
This can obviously come up if you know cards from previous Library Activations. If you have 2 Loams in your graveyard you can sequence it like:
- Dredge Loam milling 1,2,3. Dredge Loam milling 4,5,6 and then look at the top card.
- Look at the top card, Dredge Loam milling 2,3,4. Dredge Loam milling 5,6,7
- Dredge Loam milling 1,2,3. Look at card 4. Dredge Loam milling 5,6,7
Keep in mind you can't "look" at a card in these sequences and then decide whether to dredge it over or not. You must announce what you are doing for each of your Sylvan Library draw phases.
As what was discussed, if you have 3 Loams you can dredge all 3 for Sylvan.
If at any time you decide to Dredge+Draw you will always have to pay for your "DRAWS" - not dredges.
So for example in this sequence: - Dredge Loam milling 1,2,3. Look at card 4. Dredge Loam milling 5,6,7. If I choose to take card 4 and draw it then I will pay 4 life. If I don't draw card 4 then I don't have to pay any life for the two dredges of Loam that took place.
Hopefully that all made sense.
Sorry but that's not 100 percent correct.
If you activate Library and draw a card you are required to place two cards drawn this turn back on top of your library or pay four life. Basically if you dredge two loams you have to either pay four life and put card "4" back or pay 8 life. There is one exception to this, if you cycle tranquil thicket or activate horizon canopy during your upkeep, this is because its a card you have drawn this turn, its gets a little ugly though because you normally have to call a judge to make that play.
The long and short of it is the following
a. dredge 3 loams and pay no life
b. dredge 2 loams and pay 4 life and put one card back or pay 8 life and keep one card
c. dredge 1 loam and pay 0 life and put two cards back or pay 4 life an keep one card or pay 8 life and keep both cards
d. Draw a card during you upkeep and mess A-C up
I dont agree. Sylvan Library will try to do (make you choose) as much as possible, but won't punish you for something you cannot do.
If after Sylvan activation you can legally choose only one card actually drew this turn, then you only have to put this card back on top of your library, or pay 4 life to keep it in your hand, not 8 life.
From the Gatherer rulings: “9/16/2007
If you choose to draw two cards (off of Sylvan Library), then replace one or more of those draws with some other effect, the rest of Sylvan Library’s ability still happens. If you’ve actually drawn only one card that turn, you must choose that card and either pay 4 life or put it on top of your library. If you haven’t actually drawn any cards that turn, the rest of the ability has no effect. (but still happens)”
So it is like this (with the hypotheses you didn't draw card from cantrip, Horizon Canopy or others ways prior to Sylvan Library activation)
1) Draw 3 cards, dredge 0 card : Put back 2 cards drew this turn or pay 4 life per card you dont put back.
2) Draw 2 cards, dredge 1 card : Put back 2 cards drew this turn (not the dredged one) or pay 4 life per card you dont put back.
3) Draw 1 card, dredge 2 cards : Put back 1 card drew this turn (not the dredged one) or pay 4 life per card you dont put back.
4) Draw 0 card, dredge 3 cards : You CANT put back card drew this turn, so the second part of the library dont have any effect.
so if you choose to not put back anythings :
1) pay 8 life
2) pay 8 life
3) pay 4 life
4) pay 0 life
IT IS TWO AND A HALF MINUTES TO MIDNIGHT
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)