Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: [EDH] Cromat - 5 Color Planeswalker

plays Mountains
    Mar 2011
    Philadelphia Area

[EDH] Cromat - Five Color Planeswalker Control

I started playing EDH around the time of Lorwyn/Shards of Alara. I wanted to build a deck focused on the new planeswalker card type and had a few to choose from. Making this deck five colors gave me the excuse I needed to buy some dual lands but it also guaranteed that I had the option to play any future planeswalkers. As more were printed the deck grew into itself.

The deck was designed to exploit two things:
    • Most players use creature based strategies
    • Planeswalkers are difficult to destroy

38 Lands

31 Planeswalkers
    These are the Super Friends. Only one of each planeswalker type allowed.

30 Other Cards

The General
    • Cromat - Originally Cromat was selected to bind five colors. He has proven to be a reliable finisher capable of delivering 21 damage in three swings. His five activated abilities make him one of the most versatile creatures in Magic.

I would describe this deck as "competitive" but not "ultra-competitive". It is strongest against creature-heavy decks or decks that rely on the general.

I'm interested to hear about any cards I may have missed that a deck with a high planeswalker density can abuse!
    Last edited by Ace/Homebrew; 04-13-2020 at 01:22 PM.

Jan 2011
    Syracuse

Re: [EDH] Cromat - 5 Color Planeswalker

I think there are some possible cards that aren't necessarilly the best options...but they are still possibles:

Steady Progress
    Throne of Geth
    Thrummingbird
    Lux Cannon
    Clockspinning
    Contagion Clasp
    Gilder Bairn

There's a proliferate deck that's wandering around that is pretty funny and you should take a look at, it runs a ton of artifacts though (something I dont' think you can do without neudering your mana base) so I'm not sure how helpful it will be.